Student Award Endowments

In 1995, the Texas Union Advisory Council established an endowment to fund stipends for recipients of the Union's annual Leadership and Spirit Awards. Funds were raised from alumni who had participated in Union committee activities over the years.

In 1996, the Advisory Council voted to name the awards the Shirley Bird Perry Leadership Award and the C. C. "Jitter" Nolen Spirit Award. In 1999 a third award was created: the J. J. "Jake" Pickle Citizenship Award, a campus-wide award, which is also presented annually.

The corpus of the Student Awards Endowment currently stands at $75,000. In order to increase the amount of the award stipends to an appropriate level, the endowment corpus should be doubled.

Current Award Recipients

Cortney Sanders, 2014 J. J. "Jake" Pickle Citizenship Award Recipient

Matthew Montes, 2014 Shirley Bird Perry  Leadership Award Recipient

Diana Padilla, 2014 C. C. "Jitter" Nolen Spirit Award Recipient