University Unions Board of Directors

2017 - 2018 Members of the Board

  • Ms. Helen Yang, Chair
  • Mr. Colton Becker
  • Ms. Gaby Gutierrez
  • Ms. Alejandrina Guzman
  • Mr. Cambell Westmoreland
  • Ms. Arden Wheeler
  • Dr. Courtney Byrd
  • Dr. John Doggett
  • Mr. Mulu Ferede
  • Dr. Celena Mondie-Milner
  • Dr. Brian Roberts

2017 - 2018 Meeting Dates

All meetings are held in the Texas Union Board of Directors' Room (UNB 4.118), 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm, unless otherwise noted.

  • Friday, September 22, 2017
  • Friday, October 27, 2017, SAC Executive Conference Room, SAC 3.114
  • Friday, November 17, 2017
  • Friday, January 26, 2018
  • Friday, February 23, 2018
  • Friday, March 30, 2018, SAC Executive Conference Room, SAC 3.114
  • Friday, April 27, 2018

Composition of the Board

The University Unions Board of Directors is composed of:

  • Three faculty members appointed by the UT President;
  • Student Government president;
  • Two students elected at large for one-year terms;
  • Two students appointed by the SG president to serve two-year overlapping terms; and
  • Campus Events + Entertainment president, who is elected at large for a one-year term.

Non-voting members are the designee of the Vice President for Student Affairs and the University Unions Executive Director.

Duties of the Board Members

  • Recommend rules, regulations, and procedures regarding the operation and use of the Unions' facilities;
  • Approve the E+E budget, appointments of E+E officers, all changes in the E+E by-laws and the addition or deletion of any E+E committee;
  • Advise the President, through the Vice President, on the selection of the University Unions Executive Director;
  • Be involved in the future development of the University Unions.

Actions of the Board are subject to the approval of the Vice President of Student Affairs.